2019 Rose Award Luncheon


2019 Rose Award Luncheon

May 14, 2019 at 11:30 am

Sylvester Powell Jr. Community Center

6200 Martway, Mission, KS 66202

The Rose Award for Philanthropy and Community Leadership

Dr. Paul Camarata

The Community Award for Service within ASF

Dr. Kimberly Poecker


The annual Rose Award Luncheon is an opportunity to support the mission of the American Stroke Foundation as we recognize individuals for their philanthropy and community leadership.

Dr. Paul Camarata has been selected to receive the Rose Award for Philanthropy and Community Leadership. The Rose Award is given annually to celebrate the lives and contributions of the philanthropists in our midst – the people who give their time, passion and resources to organizations and causes dedicated to benefiting humanity. As a professor and Chairman of the University of Kansas Medical Center Department of Neurosurgery, Dr. Camarata is a leader, mentor and visionary. He exemplifies the spirit of this award. His leadership efforts have championed causes for all ages in the Kansas City community and his philanthropic involvement has made our community stronger.

Dr. Kimberly Poecker will be presented with the Community Award for Service within the American Stroke Foundation. Dr. Poecker has been a dedicated member of the American Stroke Foundation’s Board of Trustees for 10 years. Her experience with stroke rehabilitation at St. Luke’s Health System has been a guiding force in ASF’s programming and community outreach. Her interest in her patients’ ability to continue to grow and thrive after their stroke has been an inspiration to many. Outside of work, Dr. Poecker enjoys spending time with her family, playing soccer and community involvement with her church and PEO group.

Click Here for Sponsorship InformationWe invite you to celebrate with us by sponsoring a table and attending this year’s luncheon. Your donation will give renewed purpose to survivors of stroke as they overcome the ongoing challenges of life after stroke. If you have additional questions, you may contact me via email at jane@americanstroke.org or by calling 913-649-1776. Your support of our mission is greatly appreciated.

Previous Rose Award honorees: David Byrd, Lyde Doston, Robert Frazier, Anita Gorman, Don & Patty Kincaid, David Marshall, Joan McDowd, Dennis Moore, Ralph Pusey, Shirley Rose, Cynthia Ryan, and Dr. Marilyn Rymer